Skip to main content

Research Assistant Workshop

Research Assistant Workshop, October 13, 2017

Learning Objectives

This guide is an introduction to resources at the library and includes writing tools, subject specific resources, and advanced strategies for legal research.

Learning Objectives

  1. Research Assistants will be able to find library services on the library's website
  2. Research Assistants will be able to apply advanced legal research search strategies
  3. Research Assistants will be able to find databases by subject & jurisdiction
  4. Research Assistants will be able to find dockets & analytic reports on Bloomberg Law
  5. Research Assistants will be able to find legislative resources
  6. Research Assistants will be able to find international and foreign legal resources
  7. Research Assistants will be able to apply writing tools to their assignments

Agenda for Workshop

  1. Library 101 - Emma Babler
  2. Researching like a pro - Jenny Zook
  3. Finding the right database -Emma Babler
  4. Searching dockets & analytic reports - Jenny Zook
  5. Legislative Research - Bonnie Shucha
  6. Introduction to foreign and International resources - Sunil Rao
  7. Writing tools - Kris Turner

Contact Information - Speakers

Emma Babler - Reference & Technology Librarian, Emma.Babler@wisc.edu

Jenny Zook - Reference & Instructional Services, Zook@wisc.edu

Bonnie Shucha - Deputy Director of the Law Library, Bonnie.Shucha@wisc.edu

Sunil Rao, Foreign & International Law Librarian, Sunil. Rao@wisc.edu

Kris Turner, Head of Reference, Kris.Turner@wisc.edu

Eric Taylor, Evening Reference Librarian, eric.taylor@wisc.edu