Law Library Subject Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | P | R | S | T | U | W | #

A
Android Applications for Lawyers, Law Faculty and Law Students
by Kris Turner - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Android apps for legal professionals.
B
Bankruptcy/Debtor Creditor Proceedings
by Sunil Rao, Kris Turner - Last Updated Feb 21, 2013
The Bankruptcy/Debtor Creditor Proceedings guide is designed to assist with locating bankruptcy law and debtor/creditor resources through the law library.
C
Canada Legal Research Guide
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Guide to Canadian primary and secondary legal resources available at the UW Law Library and online.
Children and the Law
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
This research guide is designed to address the specific needs and interests of UW Law School students enrolled in L&CP: Children, Law & Society.
Chile: A Legal Research Guide
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Mar 12, 2013
Guide to Chilean legal materials (primarily federal) online and at the UW-Law Library. Sources are mainly in Spanish; annotations are given in English where deemed necessary. Note the dates of publication for each text, as some may be outdated.
Citation Guide: Interpreting, Managing & Creating Bluebook Legal Cites
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
This guide contains tips on using the Bluebook for legal citation. It includes citation samples of commonly used resources, style and abbreviation guides, and info on using citation managers to organize your research and automatically create cites.
Congressional Guides
by William Ebbott, Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Dec 4, 2012
A selective bibliography of guides to the United States Congress
Construction Law
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Jan 6, 2011
Books and journals on the topic of construction law available on the UW campus.
Copyright Law
by Sunil Rao, Kris Turner - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
This is a guide to UW Madison Libraries and online sources for research on copyright. Print and electronic resources are integrated and categorized according to topic.
Criminal Law and Procedure
by Cheryl O'Connor - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
Criminal Law involves prosecution of a person by the government for an act classified as a crime. Most crimes are punishable under state rather than federal laws, however all states must comply with certain federal constitutional minimums.
D
Divorce and Child Custody/Support
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated May 13, 2013
A guide to laws, books, journals and online resources on divorce, child custody and child support.
E
Employment & Labor Law
by Cheryl O'Connor - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
A guide to federal and Wisconsin materials on employment law which pertains to the employer/employee relationship and labor law, which covers the relationship between employers and labor unions.
Environmental Law
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated May 17, 2012
A guide to books, articles and guides on environmental law, with an emphasis on Wisconsin.
Estate Planning, Wills and Probate
by Cheryl O'Connor - Last Updated May 24, 2013
Estate planning refers to the transfer of property at death. A will designates how that property is to be transferred to designated beneficiaries. Probate is the legal process that oversees the transfer of these assets.
European Union Law
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
A brief guide to selected UW-Madison Law Library and electronic resources for research in EU Law. The UW Memorial Library, an EU depository library, has its own more extensive research guide; see the "Research Guides" section below for more info.
F
Federal Legislative History
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Apr 23, 2013
Federal Tax Research Sources
by William Ebbott, Cheryl O'Connor - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
This LibGuide lists UW Law Library resources useful in substantive federal tax research.
Foreign and Comparative Law: A Legal Research Guide
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
Guide to UW-Madison Law Library and electronic resources for research in foreign, comparative and private international law/conflict of laws.
Foreign Commercial Law
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
This is a guide to UW-Madison Law Library and electronic resources in foreign commercial law. The emphasis is on primary and secondary materials for research in materials from Europe, South Asia and South East Asia.
G
GATT/WTO: A Research Guide
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
An guide to University of Wisconsin campus and electronic sources integral to legal research involving the World Trade Organization (WTO), and to a lesser extent, its predecessor, the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT).
Germany Legal Research Guide
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
This is a guide to UW-Madison campus and e-resources for research in German law. Note that many sources here are in German, and in-depth research will require knowledge of German.
Getting Items from other Libraries: Interlibrary Loan and Universal Borrowing
by Kris Turner - Last Updated Feb 27, 2013
If you need an item that is not owned by the UW-Madison, there are other options to explore. Universal Borrowing allows borrowing from other UW campuses, and Interlibrary Loan allows borrowing from other libraries. Make smarter requests with this guide!
H
Health Law
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
Health Care Law Resources
Historical Resources for U.S. and State Law
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
Sources of historical federal and state cases, legislation and regulations, as well as books, journals and newspapers.
Human Rights Law
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
Guide to Human Rights Law & its governing bodies
I
Immigration Law
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
India Legal Research Guide
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
Guide to Indian primary and secondary legal resources (primarily federal) available at the UW Law Library and online.
International Commercial Arbitration: A Research Guide
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
A guide to research resources in International Commercial Arbitration, prepared in connection with Professor Jason Yackee's International Commercial Arbitration course.
International Law: A Legal Research Guide to Public International Law
by William Ebbott, Sunil Rao - Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
This is a guide to UW-Madison Law Library and electronic resources for research in Public International Law.
iPad Applications for Lawyers, Law Faculty and Law Students
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated Apr 19, 2013
iPad Apps for Legal Professionals
Islamic Law
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Jan 6, 2011
This is a brief guide to selected University of Wisconsin campus and electronic resources for research in Islamic law.
J
Judicial Statistics, Verdicts & Sentencing
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
Information on jury awards and verdicts, criminal sentencing, and court statistics.
L
Land Use Controls
by William Ebbott - Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
This guide provides an introduction to land use law research in the United States. The guide includes books and resources in planning and zoning law and regulations, as well as online resources.
Lawyering Skills
by Cheryl O'Connor - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
This guide highlights useful resources pertaining to four fundamental lawyering skills as identified in the ABA MacCrate Report: communication/counseling, analysis/reasoning, negotiation/adr, & professional responsibility/ethics.
Legal Aspects of Education
by William Ebbott - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
Legal Forms & Contracts
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
Sources for locating language for legal forms and contracts.
Library Guide for Cite-Checkers
by Cheryl O'Connor - Last Updated May 16, 2013
This guide presents resources and strategies to assist students with citation checking, emphasizing sources that provide pdf images of documents wherever possible.
Low-Cost Legal Resources in Dane County
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Nov 14, 2012
A list of legal assistance agencies and clinics in Dane County, WI. Organized by area of law.
M
Mental Health Law
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated Apr 12, 2011
A guide to resources on mental health law at the UW campus and online.
Mexico Legal Research Guide
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated May 24, 2012
Guide to Mexican legal materials (primarily federal) online and at the UW-Law Library. Sources are mainly in Spanish; annotations are given in English where deemed necessary. Note the dates of publication for each text, as some may be outdated.
N
Native American Law & Legal Sources
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated May 3, 2013
An introduction to legal materials available at the UW Law Library on Native Americans and other native peoples of the US, such as Native Alaskans and Hawaiians. Includes treaties, statutes, executive orders, court decisions, and administrative actions.
Negotiation & Alternative Dispute Resolution
by Cheryl O'Connor - Last Updated Jun 21, 2012
This guide is a subset of the Lawyering Skills Guide. It covers just the material on negotiation and ADR.
Newspapers Guide
by UW Madison Campus Libraries - Last Updated Jan 6, 2011
Sources of current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microform through the UW-Madison Libraries and beyond.
P
Patent Law
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
The Patent Law Guide provides resources on patent law, patent searching, and patent associations
Peru: A Legal Research Guide
by Sunil Rao - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
Guide to Peruvian legal materials (primarily federal) online and at the UW-Law Library. Sources are mainly in Spanish; annotations are given in English where deemed necessary. Note the dates of publication for each text, as some may be outdated.
R
Real Estate Transactions
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated May 3, 2013
Researching Legal Topics
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
Tips on legal research for seminar papers and law review articles for law students
S
Secondary Legal Sources
by Cheryl O'Connor - Last Updated May 16, 2013
Securities Law
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
Guide for locating information regarding federal securities law.
Study Guides on Reserve, located at the circulation desk.
by Kris Turner - Last Updated May 9, 2013
Comprehensive list of study guides and aids available on Circulation Reserve organized by subject. All the items are kept behind the circulation desk on the fifth floor of the law school library.
T
Technology Transfer & Commercialization of Intellectual Property
by Jenny Zook - Last Updated May 13, 2013
This guide is designed to provide resources on technology transfer, commercialization of intellectual property, and resources for law and enterprenuership at the University of Wisconsin.
U
U.S. Government Documents Guide
by William Ebbott - Last Updated Jan 6, 2011
The UW Law Library is a federal depository library serving the university community and the general public. This is a selective list of major document titles or series currently received by the library.
United States Supreme Court Justices
by William Ebbott, Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Jul 27, 2012
The guide contains biographical and jurisprudential information about each current US Supreme Court justice as well as materials about the Court as a whole. Prepared for Professors Church and Paff's Supreme Court Seminar, Spring Semester 2011.
W
Wisconsin Legal Information Sources Guide
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated May 4, 2012
This guide compiles information about sources of authoritative legal information for Wisconsin attorneys, emphasizing reliable sources of free and low-cost information.
Wisconsin Legislative History
by William Ebbott, Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
A guide to researching the legislative history of Wisconsin laws.
Women, Gender Studies and the Law
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated May 12, 2011
A Selective Bibliography
#
1L Survival Guide
by Bonnie Shucha - Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
A guide for beginning law students about the UW Law School, skills, courses, faculty, textbooks, studying, exams, library access, and technology.

Ask a Librarian

Chat requires JavaScript.

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts