Skip to main content

Wisconsin Legal Information Sources Guide

This guide compiles information about sources of authoritative legal information for Wisconsin attorneys, emphasizing reliable sources of free and low-cost information.

Sources

Access

Source

Contents

Dates of Coverage

Additional Information

Google Scholar (not law specific)

http://scholar.google.com

Citations with some links to full-text

Varies

General scholarly publications

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

http://www.ssrn.com/

Full-text

1990s→

Working papers

American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)

http://www.lawsource.com/also/usa.cgi?usj

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1990s→)

Coverage limited, contains links to resources from other providers

BadgerLink (not law specific)

http://www.badgerlink.net

Full-text

1980s→

General journals, magazines, & newspapers

with card

 

LegalTrac

Available in library  - and-

From anywhere with WSLL library card

 

Citations with some links to full-text

1980s→

Coverage excellent

For a WSLL library card, contact 1-800-322-9755 or wsll.ref@
wicourts.gov

with card

Hein Online

Available in library  - and-

From anywhere with WSLL library card to firms with less than 25 attorneys

Full-text

Varies (from volume one of each title)

Good coverage, PDF avaialble

For a WSLL library card, contact 1-800-322-9755 or wsll.ref@
wicourts.gov

Westlaw Public/Patron Access

Available in library

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1980s→)

Good coverage

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text & Retrospective

Available in library  - and-

From anywhere with WSLL library card

Most full-text

1918→

Coverage excellent, especially for older legal journals

LexisNexis

http://www.lexisnexis.com

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1980s→)

Good coverage, Cost varies by package

Westlaw

http://legalsolutions.thomsonreuters.com

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1980s→)

Good coverage, Cost varies by package

Access Types

Free to WisBar Members

Free for Everyone

Free to Wisconsinites

By Paid Subscription - Low Priced

By Paid Subscription - Mid Priced

By Paid Subscription - High Priced

 

 Free at Dane County Law Library

Free at Marquette University Law Library

Free at Milwaukee County Law Library

Free at Milwaukee Public Library

Free at University of Wisconsin Law Library

Free at Wisconsin State Law Library