Each entry of the Historic Archives is devoted to a particular legal instrument. It contains an introduction prepared by an eminent international law scholar or practitioner with special expertise on the subject, information on its procedural history and related documents, as well as the text and status of the instrument. Each legal instrument is accompanied by audiovisual materials, as available, including film footage, audio recordings and photos, relating to the negotiation and adoption of the instrument at meetings or diplomatic conferences.
The Lecture Series contains a permanent collection of lectures of enduring value on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different regions, legal systems, cultures and sectors of the legal profession.
The Research Library contains links to scholarly writings and other international law-related resources of interest to the researcher and practitioner alike. The library is divided into five sections: resources relating to treaties and treaty status information; materials concerning the jurisprudence of international and national courts, tribunals and other dispute settlement mechanisms; United Nations and other official documents; publications consisting of scholarly writings, including books and journal articles, as well as research guides; and training materials, which have been prepared by the Codification
Web Resources on Human Rights
Web Resources (when possible, abstracts taken directly from the organizations "About Us" Web page)
Bayefsky.com was designed for the purpose of enhancing the implementation of the human rights legal standards of the United Nations. Accessibility to UN human rights norms by individuals everywhere is fundamental to their successful realization. The information provided herein encompasses a range of data concerning the application of the UN human rights treaty system by its monitoring treaty bodies since their inauguration in the 1970's.
The European Convention System offers an up-to-date and reliable overview of all the significant activities and judgments emanating from the human rights machinery housed by the Council of Europe in Strasbourg, including the European Court of Human Rights. In this journal, all significant cases before the European Court of Human Rights are summarized, with a statement of the relevant violation, the principal facts of the case, details of the proceedings & a summary of the judgement.
Human Rights Watch is an independent, nongovernmental organization, supported by contributions from private individuals and foundations worldwide. It accepts no government funds, directly or indirectly.
Over 2,000 summaries of significant human rights decisions are available, from both domestic Commonwealth courts, and from tribunals applying international human rights law such as the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, the European Court of Human Rights and many more.
Refworld is the leading source of information necessary for taking quality decisions on refugee status. Refworld contains a vast collection of reports relating to situations in countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks. The information has been carefully selected and compiled from UNHCR's global network of field offices, Governments, international, regional and non-governmental organizations, and so on.
ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
Houses one of the largest collections of more than eighty-five thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments. The site also provides access to more than four thousands links and a unique search device for multiple human rights sites.