This database contains resources related to the United States Sentencing Guidelines. The database contains coverage from November 1, 1987 until November 1, 2008. The material contains guidelines with commenty, introductory material and an appendix.
This is a national nonprofit organization for state Statistical Analysis Center (SACs) directors, researchers and practitioners in all areas of the government, academia and criminal justice. It was created in 1974 to promote the exchange of information among the different SACs.
Information describing suspects and defendants processed in the federal criminal justice system. Users can generate various statistics in the areas of federal law enforcement, prosecution/courts and incarcerations, and based on title and section of the U.S. Criminal Code.
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) states of purpose of “faciltat[ing] research in criminal justice and criminology.” They perform this through many activities that include: preservation, enhancement, the sharing of data resources, production of original research on this data, and workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
This online resource is an alphabetical list of Bureau of Justice Statistics publications in their electronic formats. Clicking on the individual titles provides either an abstract or direct link to the resource. Upon release, an email notification can be sent on material from the Bureau of Justice Statistics, Federal Bureau of Investigation of Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention.
Note that the funding for the Sourcebook ceased in August 2012.
The Sourcebook contains statistics on federal crimes and offenders and the application of the federal sentencing guidelines in selected districts, circuits, and nationally. It includes numerical and demographic data on offenders by crime category, statistics on guilty pleas and trials, comparisons of sentences to the guideline range, data from drug and immigration cases, and sentencing appeals information.
The U.S. Sentencing Commission is an independent agency within the judicial branch of government. The agency lists three primary goals, they are: establishing sentencing policies for federal courts, advising and assisting Congress and the executive branch in developing effective and efficient crime policies and collecting, researching and analyzing information on federal crime and sentencing issues.