Every budget bill is composed of hundreds of individual bill drafts, each dealing with a particular topic or program and each assigned a four digit LRB number. The Budget Index Report helps you find topics within the budget and, by using the links, connect with the text of the specific budget component draft in which you are interested. Select "Miscellaneous Budget Documents"
Coverage: 1999 - current
This guide from the Wisconsin Legislative Fiscal Bureau is helpful for understanding the complex budget process with its omnibus bill approach that makes legislative history research even more complicated than usual.
The Wisconsin Legislative Fiscal Bureau (LFB) provides fiscal and program information and analyses to the Wisconsin Legislature, its committees, and individual legislators. The primary focus of the Committee's work is the state's biennial budget. The LFB creates summaries about the effect of the budget and selected other bills. The LFB website contains information about the bureau and some publications.
Coverage: 2001 - current
This collection from the LRB Digital Collections series contains publications produced by the LFB pertaining to the Wisconsin State Budget, including some not available on the LFB website.
Coverage: 2003 - current
If proposed legislation will affect state revenue or expenditures, a fiscal estimate is prepared. Fiscal estimates are prepared to help legislators make an informed decision on every introduced bill. The WI Legislature includes these estimates in the procedural histories of bills.
Coverage: 1997 - current
May be used in conjunction with the Bill Drafting Manual (infra.) for details about the bill drafting process and the preparation of fiscal estimates, which must accompany bills that affect the finances of Wisconsin state or local government.