Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Guide to Wisconsin Legal Information Sources  Tags: legal_sources wisconsin_law  

This guide compiles information about sources of authoritative legal information for Wisconsin attorneys, emphasizing reliable sources of free and low-cost information. Pricing structures for suppliers of legal information are included as available.
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://law.wisc.libguides.com/wilegalinfosources  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles            Print Page
  
 

Sources

Access

Source

Contents

Dates of Coverage

Additional Information

Free from Anywhere

Current Law Journal Content

http://lawlib.wlu.edu/CLJC/

Citations only

2005→

Good legal coverage

 

Free from Anywhere

Google Scholar (not law specific)

http://scholar.google.com

Citations with some links to full-text

Varies

General scholarly publications

Free from Anywhere

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

http://www.ssrn.com/

Full-text

1990s→

Working papers

Free from Anywhere

American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)

http://www.lawsource.com/also/usa.cgi?usj

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1990s→)

Coverage limited, contains links to resources from other providers

Free to Wisconsinites

BadgerLink (not law specific)

http://www.badgerlink.net

Full-text

1980s→

General journals, magazines, & newspapers

Free at Wisconsin State Law Library

Free at Marquette University Law Library

Free from Anywhere with Free at Wisconsin State Law Library card

 

LegalTrac

Available in library  - and-

From anywhere with WSLL library card

 

Citations with some links to full-text

1980s→

Coverage excellent

For a WSLL library card, contact 1-800-322-9755 or wsll.ref@
wicourts.gov

Free at Wisconsin State Law Library

Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center

Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center

Free at Marquette University Law Library

Free at UW Law Library

Free from Anywhere with Free at Wisconsin State Law Library card

Hein Online

Available in library  - and-

From anywhere with WSLL library card to firms with less than 25 attorneys

Full-text

Varies (from volume one of each title)

Good coverage

For a WSLL library card, contact 1-800-322-9755 or wsll.ref@
wicourts.gov

Free at UW Law Library

Free at Wisconsin State Law Library

Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center

Westlaw Public/Patron Access

Available in library

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1980s→)

Good coverage

Free at UW Law Library

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text & Retrospective

Available in library

Citations with some full-text

1918→

Coverage excellent, especially for older legal journals

By Paid Subscription - Higher priced

LexisNexis

http://www.lexisnexis.com

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1980s→)

Good coverage, Cost varies by package

By Paid Subscription - Higher priced

Westlaw

http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1980s→)

Good coverage, Cost varies by package

By Credit Card

LexisNexis by Credit Card

http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1980s→)

Retrieve by citation or keyword search (Search free - Pay only for documents viewed - $9/doc)

By Credit Card

Westlaw by Credit Card

http://creditcard.westlaw.com

Full-text

Varies (most mid 1980s→)

Retrieve by citation only ($22/doc)

 

Access Types

Free from Anywhere

Free to Wisconsinites

By Paid Subscription - Low priced

By Paid Subscription - Mid price

By Paid Subscription - Higher priced

By Credit Card

Free to WisBar Members

Free for Everyone

Free to Wisconsinites

By Paid Subscription - Low Priced

By Paid Subscription - Mid Priced

By Paid Subscription - High Priced

By Credit Card

 

Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center

Free at Marquette University Law Library

Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center

Free at Milwaukee Public Library

Free at UW Law Library

Free at Wisconsin State Law Library

 

Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center

Free at Marquette University Law Library

Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center

Free at Milwaukee Public Library

Free at University of Wisconsin Law Library

Free at Wisconsin State Law Library

 

 

My Profile

Profile ImageBonnie Shucha


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
UW Law Library
608-265-5513
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait