This is the "General Print Materials" page of the "Legal Forms & Contracts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Forms & Contracts   Tags: civil_procedure, contracts, forms, legal_forms, wisconsin_law  

Sources for locating language for legal forms and contracts.
Last Updated: Feb 12, 2014 URL: http://law.wisc.libguides.com/formscontracts Print Guide RSS Updates

General Print Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for Form Books

Books and other materials on legal forms and contracts may be found in the UW-Madison library catalog.

Search the Library Catalog
Or try these subject search shortcuts

Forms (Law)

 

General Forms

There are also a number of general legal form books available at the Law Library.  These sets contain suggested language for legal forms in a wide range of practice areas.  They may be found in the Law Library Reference Collection.

American jurisprudence legal forms
Call Number: Law Library Reference KF170 A542
This sixty volume set includes information on legal and business transactional forms. They are exhaustively annotated, key noted to substantive law, integrated into legal and form-drafting principles with statutes, tax notes, tables and checklists.

Cyclopedia of legal forms - Nichols, Clark
Call Number: Law Library Reference KF170 N5
Over 230 topics of law are covered by this multi-volume set. These topics include: articles of incorporation, contracts, deeds, merger agreements, trusts, and wills. The resource also includes checklists, forms, tax information, and questionnaires to facilitate transactions between parties. Each area is arranged alphabetically within the subjects.

West’s Federal forms
Call Number: Law Library Reference KF170 W4
This is the companion set to Federal Practice and Procedure. The set provides federal procedural forms that are arranged by the type of proceeding and the particular court to which they pertain. They are for use in handling civil and criminal cases and cover the U.S. Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and Civil and Criminal District Courts. Included is an index, table of statutes and court rules.

West’s legal forms
Call Number: Law Library Reference KF170 W47
This 39 volume set is arranged by subject areas. The areas covered include: business organizations, commercial transactions, copyrights and trademarks, debtor-creditor relations, domestic relations, elder law, employment agency and service agreements, employee benefit plans, estate planning, general forms, patents, real estate transactions, and retirement plans. Pocket parts and revisions keep these volumes up to date.

American jurisprudence pleading and practice forms annotated
Call Number: Law Library Reference KF8836 A45
This collection includes both state and federal pleading and practice forms. Access is provided through alphabetic listings by titles. The set includes the governing principle behind the law at the beginning of each topic, checklists of allegations reminding users what actions are permissible or required, a procedural timetable that lists principal procedural steps, statutory references, procedural rules references, trial aids which refers to American Jurisprudence of Fact, and the case notes.


 

Treatises and Practitioner's Guides

Language for legal forms and contracts can also be found in practice area specific treatises, practitioner's guides, and other texts.  Although the works are not exclusively dedicated to forms, many do contain sample language within the body of the text or in special forms sections.

The following is a selection of some of the Law Library's treatises on the topic of contracts.

Corbin on contracts - Corbin, Arthur L. (Arthur Linton)
Call Number: Law Library & Law Library Reserve KF801 C652
This fifteen volume set is one of the most heavily cited and influential treatises in print. The book has been cited in the opinions of state and federal courts thousands of times. Since its publication, the book has provided lawyers the ability to understand the rules and the meaning of contracts and how they can be used in their daily practice.

Farnsworth on contracts - Farnsworth, E. Allan (Edward Allan)
Call Number: Law Library Reserve KF801 F375 2004
Practitioners have counted on this resource to provide the essential information on contracts. The authors have included relevant contract law questions and answers and arranged them topically. The book employs access to specifics, drafting tips, references and cross-referenced cases.

A treatise on the law of contracts - Williston, Samuel
Call Number: Law Library Reference & Law Library Reserve KF801 W5 1990
This resource provides coverage and analysis on different aspects of contract law. The text includes historic underpinnings, majority and minority views and emerging trends. Contract laws are traced from their common-law roots in English cases and then show how these have evolved to meet current concerns. It also covers agreements, conditions, contract formation, excuses for non-performance, illegal agreements, interpretations and statute of frauds.

My Profile

Profile Image
Bonnie Shucha
Contact Info
UW Law Library
608-265-5513
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

Need Help?
Ask a Librarian

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

Updates

Updated by Bryan Schneider (June 2009)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip