The ConstitutionLegislation from the Central ParliamentState and Territory Legislative MaterialsCase Law
Legislative DigestCase Law Digests, Indexes and CommentaryIndexes to Articles and Books
This is the "Introduction" page of the "India Legal Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

India Legal Research Guide   Tags: foreign_law, india, international_law  

Guide to Indian primary and secondary legal resources (primarily federal) available at the UW Law Library and online.
Last Updated: Feb 7, 2013 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page

Legal System and Political Structure

India is a federal republic. Its central government, modeled after the British parliamentary system, is composed of three branches: executive, legislative and judicial. 

The Executive branch is headed by the President, who is a ceremonial head of state. The governing power lies with the council of ministers, led by the prime minister.

At the federal level, the legislative branch is composed of a bicameral parliament: The Rajya Sabha (Council of States)  and the Lok Sabha (House of the People).

Power is distributed between the central and state governments. The central government has greater power in relation to the states than is the case in the United States. The individual states have more autonomy than do the Union territories.

India's judicial system is based on English Common Law.

For more information about the Indian legal system and sources of law, see Reynolds and Flores' Foreign Law Guide.


Profile Image
Sunil Rao
Contact Info
UW Law Library
Send Email

Ask a Librarian

Need Help?
Ask a Librarian

Chat requires JavaScript.


Loading  Loading...